i think you should go.

there is something melancholic, yet sweet, about being a single parent.
a river of emotions flowed through my veins, as i felt the life beating in me.
I could feel his heartbeat, literally.
I know that we will never be apart.
Nothing can separate us.

It was not that we do not love each other.
Sometimes, somehow, things just do not work out for us.
Inappropriate timings, unexpected happenings, unwanted incidents, unnecessary expectations, are some of the reasons we chose to live by to justify the actual cause of our breakdown.
None of us actually investigated the genuine reason of the demise of our love; none of us dared to.
You and me, we both knew the depth of our love.
We both know how much effort we have sacrificed, on our part, albeit to turn out being a total wastage.
Life is full of choices, and yet we inflicted the vice of indecisiveness upon ourselves.
At least now, we are both making a stand.
This time, we loved ourselves too much to be subjected to pain and agony again.

And nothing hurts me more to see that we are now apart, not in status, not by law.
But rather, by an avalanche of unspoken thoughts and a whirlpool of unexpressed emotions.
I concealed the news of my pregnancy from you, because thats the only part of you I have left with me, and the last thing I wanted, was for you to seize it from me.
You have given me sufficient memories to last till the end of time, I assumed.
Nonetheless, it was not enough. It was never enough.
On hindsight, you could never give me enough memories to last; it was exhausted shortly within hours.
I tried to stall it but to no avail.
I tried to erase you from it but it was impossible.
I chained myself mercilessly to the reverie of our past; here I am, a living convict within the boundaries of you.
Each time I felt him, I thought I felt you.
Perhaps love is no longer the emotion that we comprehend on common ground.

As I sealed the papers with my signature, I held onto my womb and closed my eyes.
“Its just me and you against the world now baby. Let us be strong together, mother and son.”

And that was the last I have ever heard or seen your existence.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment